

Jefferson County Community Mental Health Fund Board

PRESS RELEASE

Date: May 1, 2023

Subject: CY2023 JCCMHFB Awardees

The Jefferson County Community Mental Health Board (JCCMHFB) announces its Mental Health Fund (Adult Servics) grant awardees for calendar year 2023.

The 2023 recipients are:

Chestnut Health Systems	\$ 311,159.75
Comtrea	\$ 314,364.10
Jefferson County Health Department - ASPEN Program	\$ 43,745.10
Jefferson Franklin Community Action Corporation	\$130,694.52
Total	\$ 799,963.47

Funds distributed through the JCCMHFB grants must be used to support additional mental health services for adults in Jefferson County, Missouri.

The Jefferson County Community Mental Health Fund Board was established and authorized by Jefferson County Council and the Statutes of the State of Missouri to receive and administer a Jefferson County Mental Illness property tax levy and a Community Children's Services sales tax. The purpose of both taxes is to assure a system of care for Jefferson County individuals to receive appropriate comprehensive mental health and substance use treatment for adults and children.

The Community Children's Services sales tax is a 1/8 cent rate for all taxable goods purchased in Jefferson County to be used solely for the purpose of children's mental health and substance use treatment, including individual and family counseling, psychiatric care, and school liaison services for all school districts. Additional services include domestic violence residential and counseling services and children advocacy services for Jefferson County. Annual revenues estimate \$3.4 million. The Mental Illness Levy is a property tax levy for all residents and businesses located in Jefferson County. The Mental Illness Levy funds comprehensive mental health, substance use treatment, and psychiatric care for Jefferson County individuals. The levy is set for .0857 cents for 2022 with an estimated revenue base of \$3.4 million.

The JCCMHF board consists of nine members and must include a physician and the County Executive. The nine members are appointed by the County Executive and approved by Jefferson County Council. At least one-third of the board shall represent consumers of psychiatric services or the families of such consumers.